Week 12 – Normal Gun Effects

This is what I came up with while doing the effects for the normal gun. I went through a couple of tries before setting up with the best one.

The first attempt was done a bit through imagination and by messing with the particle system a bit. The second attempt was done as well by changing some particle system options and by trying to create a more explosion type of effect.

The last attempt, which resulted with a bullet and a smoke effect, was a result of the feedback given to me, after I showed the first two effects to the team. I did a bit of research into the particle system as to find out how to do it. I went ahead and used a sphere for emmision, with a radius modified to obtain the smoke effect, with some changes as to be seen like the shot of a revolver. Afterwards I parented another particle effect system to the smoke one, as to create a bullet effect. I did give up however on the bullet effect, as I am thinking that it could be done by a raycast while programming, therefore just leaving the smoke to appear when the shoot button is pressed.

Normal Gun First Attempt

Normal Gun Second Attempt

Normal Gun Third and Final Attempt

Leave a Reply

